Monday, January 02, 2006

Presenting the new leadership

UPDATE: To realize the thrusts and activities set forth by the General Conference within the next three years, the ASA elected the new members of the executive council and the ASA regional secretariat.

The General Conference re-elected to the Exco of the Hong Kong Federation of Students (HKFS-East Asia), Student Federation of Thailand (SFT, Southeast Asia), All-India Students Association (AISA, South Asia), and New Zealand University Students Association (NZUSA, Pacific). There was none delegates from the West Asia due the travel restriction by the Hong Kong Immigration. The new team will communicate with the General Union of Palestine Students (GUPS) to propose the candidate from the West Asia.

To ensure the smooth transition and transformation of the ASA, the General Conference re-elected to the Regional Secretariat Rey Asis from the College Editors Guild of the Philippines (CEGP-Philippines) and Lee Khai Loon from the Malaysia Youth and Students Democratic Movement (DEMA – Malaysia). Bhaktar Gurung from the All Nepal National Federation of Students (ANNFSU) will replace Madhav Nepal as the new Regional Secretariat member.